Book Club Selection: Invisible Man by Ralph Ellison

 

You all have waited long enough for me to announce my next book club selection. The current selection is a classic and from what I’ve been told I am going to love it. The next book club selection is Invisible Man by Ralph Ellison

I went to an independent book store and really fell in love with the atmosphere. I had five books that were on my list and after searching I think I made the right choice. When I was checking out, the clerk and another customer both said that the book is great and that I’m going to love it.

I started reading it on Sunday and so far, I’m captivated by the story. I will  keep you posted.

If you are unfamiliar with the story here’s an overview:

“Invisible Man is a milestone in American literature, a book that has continued to engage readers since its appearance in 1952.  A first novel by an unknown writer, it remained on the bestseller list for sixteen weeks, won the National Book Award for fiction, and established Ralph Ellison as one of the key writers of the century.  The nameless narrator of the novel describes growing up in a black community in the South, attending a Negro college from which he is expelled, moving to New York and becoming the chief spokesman of the Harlem branch of “the Brotherhood”, and retreating amid violence and confusion to the basement lair of the Invisible Man he imagines himself to be.  The book is a passionate and witty tour de force of style, strongly influenced by T.S. Eliot’s The Waste Land, Joyce, and Dostoevsky.”

I’m excited about this current selection and I hope you will join me with this read. 

Have you read Invisible Man? What book are you currently reading?

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Book Club Selection: Invisible Man by Ralph Ellison”

  1. hay day help says :

    I think this is among the most important information for me.
    And i’m glad reading your article. But wanna remark on few general things,
    The web site style is wonderful, the articles is really nice :
    D. Good job, cheers

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Book Club Update: Invisible Man by Ralph Ellison | David R. Jolly - September 20, 2013

Leave a Reply

