Live to Give: End Puppy Mills

With so many dog lovers in San Francisco it made me begin to wonder; where were these dogs obtained – A puppy mill, breeder or shelter? I personally don’t have a dog, but I’m a “dog person” for sure. I’ve always said that when I get my first puppy, it will come from a shelter. This brings me to this weeks Live to Give featuring causes that fight against Puppy Mills.

I first became familiar with the dangers of Puppy Mills after it was the topic on an episode of Oprah. After that I always told myself that when I adopt my first puppy it will come from a shelter. The conditions in these puppy mills are terrible and because dog owners purchase dogs from puppy mill owners they are able to stay in business. 

Here are the two causes that I support:

The Humane Society:

The Humane Society of the United States is the nation’s largest and most effective animal protection organization. We help animals by advocating for better laws to protect animals; conducting campaigns to reform industries; providing animal rescue and emergency response; investigating cases of animal cruelty; and caring for animals through our sanctuaries and wildlife rehabilitation centers, emergency shelters and clinics.

ASPCA

Founded in 1866, the ASPCA was the first humane organization in the Western Hemisphere. Our mission, as stated by founder Henry Bergh, is “to provide effective means for the prevention of cruelty to animals throughout the United States.” While there are ASPCAs and humane societies all over the country, the ASPCA is not directly affiliated with them. However, the ASPCA works nationally to rescue animals from abuse, pass humane laws and share resources with many shelters across the country.

If you’re still not convinced to join the fight; maybe these two videos will:

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Live to Give: End Puppy Mills”

  1. Afrikan Blues says :

    How does one put a stop to these puppy mills the world over..?? Pet shops don’t help since they support these mills by buying the puppies.. Well done I also support the same causes you do. My focus for the next few months is to get more publicity to these puppy mills.. so many people are just so ignorant to them.

    • davidrjolly says :

      I have to agree, so many people do not know the dangers of Puppy Mills. That’s why I decided to try and help spread the word through this post. Every small action combined can make a big impact! Please continue to bring awareness to this issue.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Live to Give: What Causes do You Support? | David R. Jolly - September 4, 2013

Leave a Reply

